Was the atomic bombs necessary to end the war with Japan?

Was the atomic bombs necessary to end the war with Japan?

• Yes, it was necessary.

• No, it was not necessary.

Results are only viewable after voting.

Takes_Two_To_Tango

Formally known as MXZT
Platinum Member
Reaction score
I'm not an expert on this, but I'm just curious what most of you will vote for on the poll.

Some interesting tidbits about that time.

- They said that Japan was already going to surrender before the bombings.

- They said that if the US didn't nuke Japan, it would of cost 500 thousand US soldiers being killed in the invasion of Japan.

- They said that they used the atomic bombs as a display of unimaginable power to put fear on the Soviet Union.

It was a show of force against the Russian who were ready to join the fray. They're still butthurt when Japan invaded them. The US saved Japan from the Russians.

No it wasn't necessary but they had two very good reasons to do it. 1. End the war quicker and save thousands of american lives. 2. Shock and awe deterrent for the ruskies.

We want unconditional and they wanted to bargain to keep their government and military intact.

No but it actually saved a lot of lives by doing so

That was the goal of the USA

Was not necessary,

But it sure did help wrap things up faster with less causualties on the allied side..

Was not necessary,

But it sure did help wrap things up faster with less causualties on the allied side..
You'd rather have the GIs do street to street, house by house warfare?

You'd rather have the GIs do street to street, house by house warfare?

I didn't say that..

I said the bombs helped end the war a lot faster without the need for steet by street, house to house warfare.

But if the bombs were not used the Pacific was all but a wrap and even if we had to do the street by street or house by house, the allies still would have won but with far more casualties..