Using a nutritionist?

KAYNE

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I talked to a guy a while ago that was getting ready for a Natural body building contest. He had been using a nutritionist to get ready. He said he would send him pictures every week with some other info such as Body fat etc. Then the guy would write him a diet plan based on his goals. Anybody ever try this?

I sort of do it for a living. it's common practice today with nutrition advice. Quite a few trainers do it.

I am not nor have I ever used a nutritionist, but I would be shocked if 90% of them weren't the conventional wisdom "low fat/don't eat the yolks/fad diet of the month" type. Vedic can confirm or refute that, but that's the impression I always got.

That would be very true. Most themselves are not in shape and if you ran a blood lipid profile most are not healthy.

I can tell you that first hand from being the executive chef at the University of utah kitchen. I used to go rounds with nutritionist about giving diabetics the wrong things. 99% wouldn't know who Dr. Cordain is if you said his name. Yet he got his PhD there. All depends on the individual and specializations etc.

Read the faqs and studies posted here and figure it out on your own. It's much more satisfying. I do not have any papers stating I am a "Nutritionist" but i'm willing to bet I have a better understanding of it than most of them. I usually use trial and error then compare my ideas with what people like Vedic and other regulars have to say.

That would be very true. Most themselves are not in shape and if you ran a blood lipid profile most are not healthy.

I can tell you that first hand from being the executive chef at the University of utah kitchen. I used to go rounds with nutritionist about giving diabetics the wrong things. 99% wouldn't know who Dr. Cordain is if you said his name. Yet he got his PhD there. All depends on the individual and specializations etc.