Training in Thailand

ApollosLight

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
One of my goal for 2018 is to fly to Thailand and train at a local Muay Thai gym. I have very little experience with this martial art, but I am fascinated by it and would like to get a solid foundation through a month of good training; I come from a boxing background, enjoyed it a lot, though I have never fought on a ring.
Now, I have been looking at what muay thai classes in Thailand consist of, and the most surprising thing was that they were mainly centred on technique and pads and very little on cardio. At my old boxing gym we would spend almost an hour between stretching and warm up drills, followed by push ups, sit ups and so on; this doesn't seem to be the case in Thailand where, as far as I could see, the cardio was left to the single student to train by himself.
All these things considered, I would like to know if there is a good gym in Thailand which emphasises this aspect of training. Reason why I'm asking this is because I was told (and I read it too) that some gyms, like Sinbi Muay Thai, are known for not indulging in long circuits or warm ups. This is a pity because Sinbi was in many aspects my top-choice.

So what gym would you recommend?

Thank you in advance

It would certainly be the gym Sitsongpeenong Muay Thai Training Phuket.

It fits in with the training described by you have both class for professional athletes as for lovers like you.

Thank you very much. I didn't know they would have a branch in Phuket.

What about Sinbi though? I heard they had very good trainers; is it true?
And does anyone here on the forum have some experience at Sitsongpeenong to share? How is the quality of the trainers?

everyone knows tiger muy Thai is the best.... cmon man the packed gym during the summer says it all

I've trained at a bunch of gyms in Thailand. There is a focus on technique but you probably won't get shown much unless you stick around for a while.