The Pharmacist's Corner

Status
Not open for further replies.

wyandotterph

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys figured I would offer my services. I am a licensed pharmacist in Michigan, and I hold the following degrees

B.S. Pharmacy Wayne State University
MPH The University of Michigan
MBA The University of Michigan
Pharm-D Idaho State University

Any questions on supplements hit me up, I will be more than happy to answer them for you.

How much fish oil should I take a day? I have seen all sorts of different amounts ranging from 600 mg to 10 grams of dha/epa. What do you think?

How addictive is oxycodone? I have some left over from my surgery and I pop one once in a while because it helps me sleep a lot of the time. Should I worry about becoming dependent on it?

How much fish oil should I take a day? I have seen all sorts of different amounts ranging from 600 mg to 10 grams of dha/epa. What do you think?

Its really debateable, Some is better than none, more is better than some (to an extent).

If you eat a healthy diet full of fish, nuts, etc then you really dont need any additional.

However as an everyday supplement there is really no reason to go over 1gm (1000mg) per day

How addictive is oxycodone? I have some left over from my surgery and I pop one once in a while because it helps me sleep a lot of the time. Should I worry about becoming dependent on it?

You have to remember that Oxyontin is a derivative of Heroin, and is a very strong opiate itself. It is very addictive, and should not be taken for any reason other than what it is prescribed for. Oxycontin is what is called a schedule II narcotic. The DEA classifies the Schedule based on its healthbenefit vs addictiveness potential. The only drugs more addictive than Schedule II are Schedule I drugs which include heroin, cocaine, marijuanna (not for long), etc.