The Personal Finance Thread

boingyman

If can, can. If no can, no can.
@red
Reaction score
Just wanted to start a thread where we can discuss personal finance. Whether you're looking for advice or give advice about getting out of debt, budgeting, building wealth, money management, investing, saving, giving/donating, personal beliefs, etc, I think it can be healthy to talk about with others.

Wherever any of us are in terms of personal finance lets all elevate our game this year.

I earn around 90k a year (Power Lineman by trade), and my wife earns 40k a year as a teacher. We have 2 kids, and decided a 3 years ago to use her entire paycheck on our debt, and live on mine.

We have about 2 years to go, and we'll be debt free. We both drive newer vehicles, live in a 3 year old house on a small ranch. It's not hard, we aren't rich, we just have a plan and stick with it.

I earn around 90k a year (Power Lineman by trade), and my wife earns 40k a year as a teacher.

Ok, that is fucked up. Teachers need to earn more than $40,000 a year. Your wife should be earning close to what you make. ...and don't get me started on those 'fucktard' actors from Hollywood and their $1,000,000+ yearly salary for acting, or those 'fucktard' professional athletes who also make $1,000,000+ for throwing or catching a ball. A one star General in the military makes $137.000. How did things get so fucked up in 50+ years? But, you are doing well. Good job. Factor in 401K Plan (retirement), Social Security, any stocks, and any inheritance money.