Stomp kick to the kneecap - is it effective in self defense?

Nooob

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
How effective would a kick to the kneecap be when it comes to self defense?

In movies, stomp kick directly to the kneecap would end a fight. I know it's a movie but it seems very realistic and I want to know whether if it works in real life?

That attacker would be standing, his leg would be straight and he'll only jab or try grab ahold of you, it would be an easy target to hit if you have some kickboxing background and flexible legs, right?

Someone threw a chasse bas at me once(the rear leg kick too the thigh, knee, shin etc) that alot of Jackson/Wink fighters throw, stopped me in my tracks as I was coming in with a jab. Didn't do it hard or clean enough, because the person wasn't very skilled with it, but it was enough to make me think twice about coming forward.

I'm no expert, but in my limited experience they definitely work when you time them on someone coming in.

A low sidekick too the leg works well too, we've seen Jon Jones use both multiple times, these kicks are considered dirty by some, but it's damn effective in stopping someone coming forward, especially someone with an aggressive Boxing centric attack.

They were banned in American Kickboxing because many thought there'd be alot of serious injuries and Savate, French Foot Fighting, which is rooted in Street Fighting, makes great use of it, that's where the term "chasse bas" comes from.

Personally, low kicks like those are among the only one I'd ever throw in a self defense situation. More for stopping someone in their tracks than doing damage, but if you fuck their knee up, they were trying to hurt you, it's on them.

As above the kick is widely used in savate which originated for self defence. An old coach of mine was throwing these back in 2008 and they are very effective an work well for inflexible people like myself in place of teeps.