StevieSparkZ Workout Logs

StevieSparkZ

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I started lifting back in March of 2015 after a long lay off. Here, I will be posting my workouts and thoughts. I would really like some critiques and even constructive criticism. My goals are to be able to do this long term and not get injured.

If you think about it, the people that stick to it and avoid injury become the strongest. No long layoffs and etc.

I've been wanting to start this since the last 2 months or so. Better late than never, hope to hear from all you Sherdoggers!

FitNotes Workout - Tuesday 10th November 2015

Start time: ~11:15 AM (PST)

Happy 240th Birthday US Marine Corps! Slackin' on PT? UNSAT!

I had intended to do this workout yesterday on Monday, but I woke up and kept falling back asleep. Before I knew it, it was past noon. Don't you hate it when you do that? Waking up late just feels like a wasted day. Now Tuesday morning, I got up a bit after 10 AM. This is fine, I figure I'd eat and then warm up for a half hour and head to the gym.

Revisiting form for 315

About 3 months ago, I pulled 315 conventional dead lift. There are no mirrors by our power racks in my gym, so I wasn't really aware of my form. I actually thought my form was "ok" but now that I think about it, my hips were shooting up on my heavier sets. This lead to me feeling a tweaking in my lower back and I had to take a week or two off. It was horrible as you can imagine.

As I've reflected over the last month, it was even worse, below are the list of things as to why:

1) Not engaging my core - This is the primary reason for my lower back getting tweaked. Engaging your core protects your lower back. Looking back, this is absolutely horrible for me to neglect.