Starting to think I don't have social anxiety, I just choose to not socialize

revoltub

Steel Belt
@Steel
Reaction score
For about 10 years I've struggled with social anxiety.

Don't get me wrong, when I was in college i loved going out, partying, seeing friends, etc.

After I graduated i felt bad on my meds and decided to stop taking them. Since then my mind changed dramatically, and the socializing I used to look forward too now can't stand.

I'm starting to realize that im not "anxious" of social situations, I just don't enjoy them. I don't like being in a bar and having someone only half pay attention to what you are saying. I hate the stupid drama when people get drunk.

Don't get me wrong, I love drinking and getting "lit", but by myself. I hate being around people. I think I'm choosing this, and since ive realized this, I no longer feel ashamed of what I thought was a "mental disorder".

congrats, u grew up

Thanks, I do feel that way.

Last girl I dated was younger, and didn't like how I wouldn't go out and party with her.

I explained that I already did all that shit, and i don't feel the need to do it anymore.

Same here bro. I used to beat myself up about not enjoying myself in large parties or gatherings. I read a lot about being introverted and became much more comfortable about saying no to those things. I don’t hate being around people and am often, i just need my alone time as well. It’s a balance.

Same here. I have to force myself to get out and socialize a bit tho otherwise ill start feeling depressed. Once I do tho I don't notice any of the old anxiety I used to carry. I do miss valium sometimes tho not gonna lie

Same here. I have to force myself to get out and socialize a bit tho otherwise ill start feeling depressed. Once I do tho I don't notice any of the old anxiety I used to carry. I do miss valium sometimes tho not gonna lie

Valium is great. Why do you get depressed?