Should the bag swing when you are hitting it?

Corrosion

Creonte
@purple
Reaction score
I'm asking because some posters in another thread said that if the bag is swinging while you are punching it, you aren't "snapping" with your punches, you're "pushing".

I'm a relative newbie to boxing, and the bag always moves when I hit it. I've never thought about it until now.

I've always been told what you've said--it shouldn't swing because you're pushing it if you do.

I liken it to ringing a bell: when you ring the bell, you strike it with a mallet and the bell vibrates, reverberates, etc. If you strike the mallet but hold the mallet against the bell, the bell doesn't "ding" for very long--the force has been reabsorbed through the mallet and your arm. I'm no physics expert, but that makees some sense to me.

Depends on the bag. Lighter bags will obviously swing more than heavier ones. But bags will swing when you hit them. It's inevitable.

some people here have never hit a bag.

Just thinking about it logically, you are applying a force to the bag via your punch so it only makes sense that the bag is going to move somewhat and would move more the harder you hit it. I don't have a lot of experience so maybe some swing is okay but wildly swinging isn't?

Well I'm not saying the bag will stay still like a brick. I'm talking more about it flailing around.

It shouldn't swing off one or two punches

But eventually its going to move regardless

why wouldn't it move? Your hitting it...ofcourse its going to move.

Hince why people "hold" the bag for you and also why you can work slips, movement with a bag.

Obviously when you hit something it's gonna move. However your goal shouldn't be to push the bag around as much as you can. Just because your punches have a lot of push on them don't necessarily mean they have a lot of power.