ShinKen-Do

MrFoot

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I'm starting ShinKen-Do next week but can see very little about it online. If I look it up I get Shinkendo which is training with swords, rather than the one I'm starting, which is pretty muck kickboxing with some grappling involved.

Does anyone have an opinion on Shinken-Do? Is it worth doing or a waste of time? I've been training Bjj for over two years and I'll carry on with it twice a week, Shinken-Do is just something extra, it's 5 minutes away and I figured it might be fun and help keep the fitness levels up.

Thanks in advance for any advice or opinions.

I'm starting ShinKen-Do next week but can see very little about it online. If I look it up I get Shinkendo which is training with swords, rather than the one I'm starting, which is pretty muck kickboxing with some grappling involved.

Does anyone have an opinion on Shinken-Do? Is it worth doing or a waste of time? I've been training Bjj for over two years and I'll carry on with it twice a week, Shinken-Do is just something extra, it's 5 minutes away and I figured it might be fun and help keep the fitness levels up.

Never heard of it. Sounds like it might be some sort of mma style gym with a TMA name. Sounds interesting.

I've had another look around, it seems to be mainly taught in England and Ireland with a few places in France, Denmark and New Zealand.

It was invented in the mid 80s as a mixed martial art, the guy that came up with it says it's mainly a cross between Karate and Jiu-jutsu. He trained in Thai boxing, karate, judo, Jiujutsu (maybe Bjj) and I think Kung fu and possibly Aikido, so took a little bit from each of those.

I'll try it for a month or 6 weeks and see if I enjoy it.

Weird, the only Shinkendo I know of is swordsmanship. Does the dojo have a website?

I've had another look around, it seems to be mainly taught in England and Ireland with a few places in France, Denmark and New Zealand.