Recording guitar question

Post 2 Decision

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I'm just starting out recording with a small set up at home. Mic'd my guitar amp with an sm57 and it's running through a focusrite Scarlett solo. It sounds great but I'd love to get a heavier/fuller/thicker/deeper tone. Adding my bass track does make it sound a lot better.

Wondering how many guitar tracks I should record, or how many I should copy, and what are the best ways to pan them out.

4 separately played tracks?
2 separately played tracks, each copied for a total of 4 tracks?
2 tracks good enough?

Pan one hard left, one hard right, and the other two panned slightly left and right?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Unfortunately I didn't invest in an audio interface where I can use 2 mics at once for the amp, and also can't afford a nice condensor mic right now either haha.

I know this depends on my amp too, but surely there would be tips/rules for any amp used.

Specifically targeting any sorts of metal sounds/tones

I'm just starting out recording with a small set up at home. Mic'd my guitar amp with an sm57 and it's running through a focusrite Scarlett solo. It sounds great but I'd love to get a heavier/fuller/thicker/deeper tone. Adding my bass track does make it sound a lot better.

Wondering how many guitar tracks I should record, or how many I should copy, and what are the best ways to pan them out.

4 separately played tracks?
2 separately played tracks, each copied for a total of 4 tracks?
2 tracks good enough?

Pan one hard left, one hard right, and the other two panned slightly left and right?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Unfortunately I didn't invest in an audio interface where I can use 2 mics at once for the amp, and also can't afford a nice condensor mic right now either haha.

I know this depends on my amp too, but surely there would be tips/rules for any amp used.

Specifically targeting any sorts of metal sounds/tones