Question regarding high doses of fish oil

Turismo

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Recently I downloaded the free Precision Nutrition starter pack being offered on their website and in this pack Dr,John Berardi reccomends taking a multi vitamin every day alongside 1gram of fish oil per percentage of body fat for the first 2 weeks before reducing it by half.

I'm interested in understanding his thought process in reccomending this and also looking for reassurances when it comes to avoiding some sort of vitamin toxicity as a consequence of consuming such high doses.

You see I'm relatively new to nutrition and when each of my fish oil capsules contain 100% of the otherwise reccomended A & D vitamins I have some concerns swallowing 20 of them right after a multivitamin!

Thanks in advance guys.

Could be wrong but I'd be surprised if there is hard science behind those recommendations. People like Beradi have to keep coming up with stuff to stay in business and so they make out they've got it all sorted out with figures on various nutrients. But as far as I'm aware, the science simply doesn't exist to come up with such specific figures. There isn't even any evidence saying that multivitamins are a good thing for most people: https://www.sciencebasedmedicine.org/more-evidence-that-routine-multivitamin-use-should-be-avoided/

The initial positive flurry of studies for fish oil have had the shine taken off them more recently. There is even one paper linking high fish oil intake to aggressive prostate cancer risk. It's probably safe but nobody can be 100% sure. It might have some health benefits.

Given that it's quite clear that nobody knows the full effects of any of these supplements long term, the only sensible path would appear to be to ignore any recommendations requiring you to take lots of pills or potions on a daily basis as there is no way they can be making those recommendations based on hard science rather than some speculation based on a few studies.