Punching with the first two knuckles?

KO By Knee

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
I was critiqued in a fight by someone saying I'm not very experienced and they said their reasoning is based off the fact I didn't only connect with my first two knuckles on my punches? I didn't quit understand the guy seemed like someone who had no idea what he was talking about but acted so elitist at the same time it was hard to judge.

In all my time boxing ive never really heard of that, can someone explain this to me or walk down how a punch is supposed to properly land the knucles?

My left hook without gloves I tend to land with all knuckles, same with jabs or straights in boxing gloves it really makes no difference.

BTW the fight I was judged on I won, It started with a right hook then a modified short overhand right then I got the back and landed some heavy punches I couldn't quit lock in the choke but when we stood up his arm was down due to being mangled from a failed kimura attempt and I landed a clean right hook that won me the KO.

I honestly don't think you have to worry about hitting with the first two knuckles when you have hand wraps and gloves. I was taught to hit with knuckle of the index and middle finger because they're the strongest while the ring and pinkey are more prone to break, but then again a lot of the training we did didn't involve gloves or hand wraps at the time.

You still want to have proper punching technique even with wraps and gloves.
You want to hit them with your middle&index knuckle. So focus on that.