Old School Conditioning

mdcholakian

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I was a little bit lost with my conditioning and strength training for my kickboxing.

I have classes at the gym twice a week, and a sparring session with a friend another one when I make some cardio training before. Then I have two sessions which I need to decide.

I was seriously thinking in just running. I made strength and power training a lot of time, when I put some muscle on my body gaining some weight there.

I'm wanting to lose some weight to compete against smaller guys. I'm confident I can acomplish that.

Right now I'm 1.75mts tall weighing 73 kgs (5.9" and 161lbs), so I fight in 155lbs. Remember I'm a newbie, so I don't touch the scale before fighting, except someone thinks I'm laying. All at the time I fight, so I can't dehydrate or anything like that.

My goal is to lose 5 kilos, so i can fight in 65 kilos living with 68.

What do you think about some old school MT conditioning: running, jump rope and sparring. Some heavy bag when my partner is not available.

Thanks.

I saw the best results in my conditioning when I regularly started doing 5 mile runs. Although- I was already in decent shape when I did that. Was doing a lot of sparring/calisthenics/hiit style workouts such as stuff that Ross Enamait does. But I started doing long slow jogs just to make losing weight easier and I instantly felt better sparring in the gym after a few weeks.

I say go for it. The old-school guys did it because it works.

But remember no amount of conditioning can ever replace sparring.

I saw the best results in my conditioning when I regularly started doing 5 mile runs. Although- I was already in decent shape when I did that. Was doing a lot of sparring/calisthenics/hiit style workouts such as stuff that Ross Enamait does. But I started doing long slow jogs just to make losing weight easier and I instantly felt better sparring in the gym after a few weeks.