Official AMD "Ryzen" CPU Discussion (including pricing information) | Page 10

Discussion in 'Video Game Forum' started by PEB, Nov 24, 2016.

  1. m52nickerson EXTERMINATE!

    m52nickerson
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,543
    Likes Received:
    3,257
    Location:
    In your castle advising your King!
    Yup the i5 will still be top as far as performance, but the difference in gaming could very well be small enough that passing up on two additional cores for the same money would be hard to do.
     
    #181
  2. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    29,195
    Likes Received:
    10,484
    Location:
    NorCal
    Yeah, in essence, looks like we may have a repeat of the FX-6300 situation, but with the 6-core staring down the i5's, not the i3's.
     
    #182
  3. PEB Atomic Butt Drop Champ :)

    PEB
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    11,247
    Likes Received:
    3,638
    Location:
    SPACE THE FINAL FRONTIER :)
    AMD dropped hints of a 16 core 32 thread Ryzen CPU for 700 dollars VS 1700 for Intel's biggest 10 core. They unfortunately will not support the current socket but supports a full 16 lanes of data transfer. It will have 6 more cores then the i7-6950X. It will support a crazy number of PCI-E sockets.
     
    #183
  4. Yari ななせまる

    Yari
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,785
    Likes Received:
    6,995
    Was reading about some nice improvements on Ryzen today, DOTA 2 getting some patch that supposedly improved performance by 20%, and some more good stuff over on the AMD Reddit.

    That 16 core 32 thread CPU mentioned though, probably months out eh? Too bad.
     
    #184
  5. TSO Silver Belt

    TSO
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Location:
    Kings Landing
    Is that the one with 6 channel memory as well?
     
    #185
    PEB likes this.
  6. PEB Atomic Butt Drop Champ :)

    PEB
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    11,247
    Likes Received:
    3,638
    Location:
    SPACE THE FINAL FRONTIER :)
    Intel new leak of a 32 core monster chip likely going to cost 4,000 dollars by Intel with 6 channel memory. Intel is countering an AMD 32 core chip coming out next year with one that is already being tested.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    #186
    TSO likes this.
  7. TSO Silver Belt

    TSO
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,445
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Location:
    Kings Landing
    Just downloaded "ryzen master" and I didn't realize my 1700 was already running at 3.6ghz. Did I win the binning lotto or is this not accurate?
     
    #187
  8. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    29,195
    Likes Received:
    10,484
    Location:
    NorCal
    3.7GHz is the native Turbo binning:
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Zen/AMD-Ryzen 7 1700.html

    Hence why the 1700 has risen to become the bestseller of the three and such a killer value as I've expounded on with my above posts. According to the information I've reviewed these are the numbers you can expect with the market's big winner CPU Coolers:

    • $330 = R7-1700@3.0GHz (3.7GHz*)
    • $360 = R7-1700@3.9GHz
      • using $30 Hyper 212 EVO or $35 Cryorig H7
    • $400 = R7-1700X@3.4Ghz (3.8GHz)
    • $420 = R7-1700@4.0GHz
      • using $90 Noctua D15 SE-AM4 (or 240mm+ liquid cooling)
    • $500 = R7-1800X@3.6GHz (4.0Ghz)

    *Turbo Mode means it will run at 3.7GHz during challenging sequences in games, and throttle only if those sequences endure long enough without intermittent, less stressful periods for it to cool down.
     
    #188
    Slobodan and TSO like this.
  9. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    29,195
    Likes Received:
    10,484
    Location:
    NorCal
  10. Slobodan Вело ;)

    Slobodan
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    7,173
    Likes Received:
    102,466
    Location:
    Sydney
    So turbo mode is only activated during games? I haven't overclocked my 1700 and since I only have a HD6670, I'm waiting till Vega or maybe the refreshed 500 line. Anyway I haven't been able to test new games (tried running Andromeda with this graphics card {<jordan}), I've used Cinebench though and it maxes out at 3.2ghz at all cores so was just wondering why I never see it kick in to 3.7. But I am also running the stock Wraith cooler.
     
    #190
  11. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    29,195
    Likes Received:
    10,484
    Location:
    NorCal
    "Turbo Mode" (Intel) or "Turbo Core" (AMD) is just the dynamic frequency that will automatically be activated whenever it is demanded according to their algorithms and possibly the software being run, essentially, but it doesn't activate on all cores. This is optimal for workloads that are often optimized for fewer cores like games. So, in theory, the CPU is running at 3.0 GHz across all eight cores, and things are okay. But then all of a sudden you come to some new load area and it's dropping frames because the workload on the first two cores suddenly becomes incredibly demanding, but nothing was really added to the last four cores (possibly it will underclock the additional cores or shut them down). So it clocks those down, and overclocks the first two cores.

    It may produce more overall heat for a short time, but generally speaking, this dynamic setup is intended to shift the burden of heat the processor can dissipate as a whole around to where it really needs to be used in that moment. It isn't intended to run 3.7GHz across all 8 cores (it would likely become toast pretty quickly, I imagine).

    The CPU core clocks are chosen because the CPU can burn at that across the board and should never have to worry unless ambient temps get crazy, or the case gets choked. Games are one such stress. If you're CPU is never going into that, then that could mean that it is already working at full capacity, and can't really boost the primary cores for any appreciable duration (since all cores are firing).

    Alternatively, it could be a motherboard issue. It might not be activated by default on your board. That's assuming your motherboard supports the technology.
     
    #191
    Slobodan likes this.
  12. Slobodan Вело ;)

    Slobodan
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    7,173
    Likes Received:
    102,466
    Location:
    Sydney
    Gotcha

    <40>
     
    #192
    Madmick likes this.
  13. Slobodan Вело ;)

    Slobodan
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    7,173
    Likes Received:
    102,466
    Location:
    Sydney
  14. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    29,195
    Likes Received:
    10,484
    Location:
    NorCal
    Don't get your hopes up. Nothing having to do with RAM speeds is going to close that gap.
     
    #194
  15. Slobodan Вело ;)

    Slobodan
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    7,173
    Likes Received:
    102,466
    Location:
    Sydney
    Did you watch the vid?
     
    #195
  16. jefferz Silver Belt

    jefferz
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14,580
    Likes Received:
    10,044
    But this does bring up the question is faster ram worth the performance/price now. Some games are showing up to a 10% improvement.
    If I was building a high end machine I'd spend the extra $20-$30 to jump up to 3000+ mhz.
     
    #196
    Madmick likes this.
  17. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    29,195
    Likes Received:
    10,484
    Location:
    NorCal
    I did not.
     
    #197
  18. Slobodan Вело ;)

    Slobodan
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    7,173
    Likes Received:
    102,466
    Location:
    Sydney
    Check it out, it's worth it imo

    The guy saw some noticeable improvements after switching to faster ram. I'm curious on your thoughts about it and he did mention a Windows update I believe.
     
    #198
  19. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    29,195
    Likes Received:
    10,484
    Location:
    NorCal
    Okay, I'll take a look, I just remember there being false hype about this the past several times, and I'm definitely burned on AMD's spins after they pulled what appears to be another glorified binning release with the R7 chips (i.e. the great TDP bamboozle). As far back as either Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge we've been seeing 3%-7% framerate improvements with RAM overclocks each generation, and it's never made much of any difference between AMD vs. Intel. I guess I'm just jaded.

    I'll give it fresh eyes and my best attempt at a blank slate later tonight.
     
    #199
    Slobodan likes this.
  20. jefferz Silver Belt

    jefferz
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14,580
    Likes Received:
    10,044
    I definitely agree on some of the over hype, but this is one you should dig into. It has something to do with the neural network. Wendell went into a little bit also, I'll try to dig up the video.

    edit: it's in here somewhere
     
    #200
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2017
    Madmick likes this.

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "fd5733925866a04e50edd70f38dfaa35"
monitoring_string = "603ac9fff68f23709f2a42bf5e29272b"