Need Ideas! Future guns..

Kframe

Black Belt
@Black
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I am an amature writer. Me and friend are co-writing a fanfiction set in the Aliens universe, approx. 300 years after resurrection. So we have the plot, but we are trying to come up with future weapons. Granted, we don't have to, but it helps to establish the timeline, and show some progress in technology.

Granted we all know what that m41a pulse rifle looks like from Aliens, my question is what would a gun 300 years later from that look like? In Aliens, it is presumed they are using caseless ammo. Since our story is a few centuries beyond that, we going with the idea of the weapons be Magnetic Coil Rifles. Coil rifles are different then Rail guns, in that the bullet floats down the barrel, never touching the metal, using magnetic fields to spin/stabilize the bullets instead of lands and groves.

So, what are your ideas for how such weapons would look? I came up with a design that resembles a Fn-Fal, but that is a bland design. Very functional, though. And I own a FAL, and I love that gun. .308 hits like brick.,
Now bear in mind that while I want the guns to look cool, I want functionality before any other concerns. The caliber for the ammunition is 9mm. Not light weight, think 180-220 grain bullets.

I thought about something like the Avenger 8 from Mass Effect Andromeda, but the large curved magazine that loads from the top would make it unrealistic and unwieldy. Especially for trying to aim the damn thing. My friend came up with a design based on the FN2000 but that is such a thick and tall gun that I just don't see it as battle worthy.

So thanks in advance guys, I am hoping to get the creative juices going. Even if no one idea works, I can use any and all of them to make a composite.

Just compare the standard infantry issued weapon from the 1700s was to now.