Mysterious Rib Injury?

I'm getting over the same thing for the second time. No breaks but I have a large gumball sized knot right on the bone. Went to two different docs and they both said the same thing yours did. Probally inflammed tissue or a bone bruise. Give it some time and it will get better. But I am 4 months into my last injury and when I lay on my side sometimes I can still feel it twinge up on me.

Triso:

I hear you friend on this one... This 275 meathead was practicing with me in BJJ class and he really nailed me on the ribs hard with his shoulder as he was passing my guard (I weigh 155 so you can imagine). He knocked the wind out of me badly and I felt it instantly that something was wrong with my ribs as I had real bad pain when I breathed.

Went to the ER.. X-Rays and the shit.. Nothing at all. I know the bulge you mean cause I had the same thing on my ribs and I even felt it.

I could not do jiu jitsu, nor a single push up for about 1 month and a half.. I had to sleep with a orthophedic pillow tied around my ribcage with my white belt.

Be warned that although at around exactly 4 weeks into my injury (just like you) I was starting to feel the pain go away and I was really itching to be able to get back into the mat to train. Thing is I went to a session and as we where drilling the scissor sweep, my partner swepts me into my injured side and you can imagine the rest.. I was again in pain for about 2 weeks..

About 4 days ago the pain actually became bearable and yesterday was the first time I was back in class at full. Something weird happened yesterday as well.. As we where doing forward rolls to warm up I felt this weird stretching sensation in my fucked up rib and then sort of goey warmness all around the injured area.. I was pretty scared I thought I was having some sort of internal bleeding but after a few minutes it went away.

Bottom line is my rib still hurts but the pain has gotten to the point where I can function and train normally.