Muay Thai once or twice a week worth it?

Deltafarce

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I mainly train for self defense. I’ve been training BJJ for the past 7 years I usually can only make class twice a week so my improvements are very slow.

I really want to learn stand up, I took a couple MT classes and really enjoyed it. I’m just wondering if it’s going to be pointless if I only make it once a week or twice a week. I’m also 38 and my body doesn’t recover as quick. I’m not sure how much sparring MT does in the beginning, I want to spar but I don’t want to get too injured lol!!

Any thoughts ? Am I too old or should I give it a try? I have zero boxing experience

Once or twice a week is more than enough to learn fundamental striking self defense. If you go once a week, within a year you will be pretty good :)
I've actually had way more injuries from rolling than what I've gotten from my kickboxing spars/fights. More bruises from striking but nowhere near the amount of bad pops and torn muscle etc...

DO IT! JUST DO IT!

Yeah I have gotten some serious injuries from BJJ, maybe it’s the twisting or everything

Is it just me or do you guys get accidental elbows and knees alot when rolling?

I mainly train for self defense. I’ve been training BJJ for the past 7 years I usually can only make class twice a week so my improvements are very slow.

I really want to learn stand up, I took a couple MT classes and really enjoyed it. I’m just wondering if it’s going to be pointless if I only make it once a week or twice a week. I’m also 38 and my body doesn’t recover as quick. I’m not sure how much sparring MT does in the beginning, I want to spar but I don’t want to get too injured lol!!

Any thoughts ? Am I too old or should I give it a try? I have zero boxing experience
Better than zero days a week.

Start with once a week, move up to 2x a week when your body feels like it wont get injured from doing that.