Man.. I feel like BJJ might not be for me.

ColorPurps

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I feel like I've plateau for the last few months. I've been doing BJJ for about 8-9 months. for the first few months, I only did beginner's no gi for 2x a week. then, added a mixed level no gi on sundays. Eventually, I added another mixed-level no-gi then 2 more beginner's gi. Been doing beginner gi for like 12 classes. Feels like everyone is passing me.

I struggle with stronger opponents even when they have less technique and especially stronger bigger opponents. And I still have a weak guard, no half guard game, and don't know how to approach people who play half guard right away. (From what I've notice)

I think I am going to add more mixed-level gi classes since I can buy more gis soon and hopefully this will help me with improving. but I've been really discouraged due to guys whos more inexperience beating me.

Any advice? Also, I am 5'9ft and 209-212lbs.

Stick with it. It’s a tough sport. You also learn different things from different instructors.

You could at least try a different legit instructor before giving up on it.

Stick with it. It’s a tough sport. You also learn different things from different instructors.

You could at least try a different legit instructor before giving up on it.
Maybe i need to go to a legit school or something, because right now, I am attending an MMA school. Also, how the hell do i check for updates on this post? didn't receive any notifications. had to check the new posts under grappling technique.

everybody reading this is silently nodding in remembrance of when they were going through the same thing you are. spoiler: figuring out how to solve these impossible problems is why people often describe this sport as "life-changing."