Leaving or balancing weight training

Medjj

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi guys!
This is my first post, I don’t know if it is the right place where to post this discussion and English is not my first language, so be nice

I currently train Bjj from 3 to 5 times a week (i’ve been training for 2 years, white belt).
I’ve recently started to do some weight training in order to gain some muscle and build up strength (I’m a f***ing skinny fat) - it is working and it helped!
Now this is my dilemma: I ve got the opportunity to learn judo - there is a good school not to far from where I live, with many people who compete - and I thought it would be nice to learn to throw people around (my Bjj style is “takedown and pass”, I don’t really like pulling guard or worse butt scooting), but in doing so I wouldn’t be able to lift 3 times a week.
I could lift sometimes, but not more than 2 times a week because I work...so I ask for suggestions
Do you think it could be helpful to leave weight training and switch to Judo and jiu jitsu, sacrificing the “mass and strength effect”? My current options are
Judo 3 times a week - Bjj 3/4 times a week
Judo 3/4 times a week - lifting 2/3 times a week
Bjj 3/5 times a week - lifting 2/3 times a week

I know it’s my choice, and I don’t have plan to become a professional, I just want to know from more experienced people.
Thank you so much guys

I ain't more experienced, just old, but I'll give you my opinion.

I would take judo and lifting. This is because I like judo a hell of a lot more than jitsu and I would not stop lifting because of the benefits that it confers to everything I do.

You can always switch back to bjj if the judo ain't to your taste, I think it will improve your game.

I did Judo while doing BJJ for 2 years. Judo is hard to learn without going "all in" for guys like me who are not gifted. I never did get good at throws. But, I really got rid of my fear of being thrown. So, it was worth it for that reason alone.