Is there a link between pro wrestling and the disdain for lighter weight classes?

PRIDEoftheUFC**

Red Belt
Reaction score
A lot of MMA fans are also either pro wrestling fans or former pro wrestling fans. The lighter weight pro wrestlers were always underappreciated and even shunned by many pro wrestling fans. Do you think there is a connection here? Maybe because many MMA fans are or were pro wrestling fans, they find it hard to accept the lighter divisions? You don't see boxing fans doing this.

I was a pro wrestling fan back in the day but I like the lighter weight classes, though.

I guess it's possible but I don't like pro wrestling at all and generally prefer 155+ in MMA.

Daniel-Bryan-Yes-Cheer.gif

But at the same time

Because that guy in the gif is small and very popular.

I don't know if there is any link between the two.
However, if there is... I might have a little more sympathy for those who feel disgruntled for the lighter weight classes after them being subjected to this guy.

sc-hornswoggle.jpg

I don't watch pro wrestling, I also think that the "lighter" weight classes are the best in MMA.

They were never that popular in boxing either. That's why even today, all the lighter weight fighters are from Japan and Thailand. Same with kickboxing. Can't blame prowrestling here can you? Especially since Japanese loving pro-wrestling, and they're the few who embrace tiny fighters.

They were never that popular in boxing either. That's why even today, all the lighter weight fighters are from Japan and Thailand. Same with kickboxing. Can't blame prowrestling here can you? Especially since Japanese loving pro-wrestling, and they're the few who embrace tiny fighters.