is it worth learning to switch stances

flikerstance

floridaman
Banned
Reaction score
i started boxing when i was 12 and at 16 i started training in jiu jitsu obviously in wrestling you are taught to shoot on your strong side to penetrate stronger and underhook control but i knew i would be a mma fighter so i decided to wrestler orthodox i feel i would have even stronger shots if i was southpaw but as a striker iv been fighting orthodox for 13 years and i dont know if its worth me working on switching stances to learn on my strong side im 25 i have a good 15 years left do you think its worth trying to fight both southpaw and orthodox for takedowns?

It's very hard! I would recommend you have techniques that attack both sides of the body, but to try and become equally proficient on both sides is almost impossible, unless you are a member of a very small percentage of the population.

i only do one side for everything even armbars lol ad side escapes i use to say why only be 50% when can do one 100 but i think it could open more doors creatively especially when guys try to figure me out fighting but it will probably take 3 years till i can get smooth its just a big commitment and not sure if its worth i tmoving to my right when southpaw is sooo awkward i feel so open when i jab lol i like to go southpaw mid combo to get off on a few punches then switch back after well see how it goes

Honestly it isn't even a physical function, it is more of a left brain, right brain thing. The Left brain controls the right side of the body and vice versa, each person is dominant on one side of the brain. Learning to be ambidextrous in wrestling, or boxing is pretty much the same as learning to write with your non dominant hand. It is very very hard, you are better off spending your time getting proficient on your dominant side of the body, with secondary attacks to the opposite side of your opponent.