Is it that bad to be skinny ?

Discussion in 'Dieting / Supplement Discussion' started by Jairo, Feb 15, 2017.

1. Jairo White Belt

Jairo
    Hi guys !

First off, I’m a newbie when it comes to fighting and fitness and I’m kind of lost. I made some research about it and all I found were guys trying to gain weight. Also I apologize for poor English.

I’m actually 162cm (5’, 4”) for 50kg (110lb). I’ve been training boxing during 2 years and just switched to muay thai a few month ago. I always felt skinny, everyone around me say I am. My first coach told me to eat more and gain weight. So I did and at one point I was 55kg (120lb) , not that much of gain but I got sick of eating that much food and gave up. It felt horrible to be full all day and feeling nauseous all the time.

I’m still very concerned (and feel bad) about it. So I asked my new coach and he said “if you’re in perfect shape, weight doesn’t matter”. He thinks I shouldn’t worry at all because I train as hard as the big guys in the gym.

So I had a coach that told me I’m in very bad shape do to my weight and one that says it’s all good.

What’s your thoughts about it? Can you be skinnier than normal and be healthy? Is it worth it to force yourself into gaining weight? Does it really matter outside of looking good?

Newbie questions, kind regards!

2. Quinton Overeem Purple Belt

Quinton Overeem
    No it's good for your heart longevity. Make sure to have your daily vitamin intakes from food (vegetables, fruits, spices, herbs, nuts).

3. Seriously-Dead wubbalubbadubdub

Seriously-Dead
    There's nothing inherently wrong with it, especially if you don't have to go to any particular effort to maintain that low of a weight. As long as you're fighting guys your size, it's not a big deal. For life in general, or in non-weight class sports, being that light is a clear disadvantage in terms of absolute strength.