In 2017, What Is More Important?

College or Experience?

• Total voters

BEER

Platinum Member
Reaction score
What say you, Sherdog?

Is it more important to go to college or gain experience and labor skills in the job market?

Experience, real world knowledge. I have a degree and my job has nothing to do with it. For me, an undergraduate degree is simply a way for employers to narrow a list if they have a job listing. All else equal, take the person with the degree, mostly just says you can stick with and complete something.

Experience, real world knowledge. I have a degree and my job has nothing to do with it. For me, an undergraduate degree is simply a way for employers to narrow a list if they have a job listing. All else equal, take the person with the degree, mostly just says you can stick with and complete something.

It makes me laugh every time I see a job posting that requires a 4 year degree, but not anything specific. A degree in underwater basket weaving would do the trick. I have so many friends with degrees that just work at bars or coffee shops. A handful of them with jobs that required a bachelor's but in fields completely separate from their jobs.

Meanwhile, I know a kid who dropped out of high school and now owns a successful body shop. He knew what he wanted to do, got after it, and ten years later, he's doing great.

It makes me laugh every time I see a job posting that requires a 4 year degree, but not anything specific. A degree in underwater basket weaving would do the trick. I have so many friends with degrees that just work at bars or coffee shops. A handful of them with jobs that required a bachelor's but in fields completely separate from their jobs.

Meanwhile, I know a kid who dropped out of high school and now owns a successful body shop. He knew what he wanted to do, got after it, and ten years later, he's doing great.