Important 'general' lessons you learned training standup

Yourstepdad

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Me: I started training boxing 5 years ago because I had to lose weight. Fcking hated it the first years but I had to go because otherwise my parentd had no chill. The alternative was a regular gym where there were no out of shape people.

The whole time I hated boxing so much I also sucked at it. I preferred a painful dentist appointment over training. But only quite recently I realized how much I have already picked up during training and how healthy I am now (compared to the couch potato I was).

Anyways I am training for my first non-sparring match.

Here are some things i learned along the way. Most of them are really open doors but man it took a while before i realized these things. I am curious to hear what things you guys learned as well (also the clichés please! Fck it they are cliches for good reason)

In random order:
1: Sometimes there are multiple correct ways to perform a technique. One is not always better than the other (even though every other trainer may have a different opinion), but YOU have to make it work and perfect the move.

2: It is impossible to not get hurt at all during serious training (let alone a match). To beat somebody you have to put in the work, and even with the best defense in the world you will always step out of the ring with some minor pain somewhere. When ur lucky it's only bruised lower arms from blocking shots. Big part of me not liking the sport is I believed for so long that not getting hit at all was possible. So i was dissappointed in myself all the time.

2A: Mayweather defense highlight-vids are great but they show a one sided perspective. They may give people false expectations of the sport that are just not realistic. The don't show the hard work nor the (relatively little) punishment he does take.