I have a question about Boxing footwork.

Crimson Glory

Go Pack Go!
@red
Reaction score

So in this video the instructor clearly shows, when throwing the right hand after the jab, too have your back foot follow your front foot as you pivot.

It's clear it's meant to maintain the stance, I just wanted to know if that's proper technique or if it's just one aspect of footwork.

I'm pretty new to Boxing, only been formally training it for less than 2 months, maybe 1-2 times a week, I've watched many videos on punching technique, like how to pivot for power, how to dip slightly when throwing the uppercut etc, but I always thought that with the 1-2 combo, you were supposed to only step forward with your front foot and throw the right hand with a long stance.

Thoughts?

He's right. If you keep your right foot back there it's called "foot in a bucket" and it's a common mistake that everyone makes at first. Usually after you jab someone, they're out of your range and so you have to do that half step anyway to connect with your right. The only way you wouldn't is maybe if they're coming forward or if they're really close to you (but make sure your right foot is still under you). If you leave your back foot behind you instead of under you when you throw your right, the mechanics are off for the punch delivery itself and you're off balance + stretched out, and easy to knock over.