How to set up hits?

Ilk

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I have a lot of time to shadow box now and want to improve my technique and knowledge in stand up. I am reading in these forums a lot regarding set ups however I have a hard time to understand what hit or combo sets up which hits.

For example I know that a good reaching jab to the head can set up a good reaching jab to the body or vice versa. And when you mix them up a bit the oponent may get confused. You can double the jab or eveb go body head or head body or even chest head and etc. I ve learned in a private session with a very good coach how to set up a cross after a double jab by almost stepping on the back foot of my opponent which creates a good angle. I am awared that you can side step and attack and etc. I can set up low kicks with jab low kick or 1-2 low kick. However my repertoar is very simple. I have been practicing these like for almost 2 years. I have few more combos. I have created good technique in the leaping hook both the body and the head, my jab is ok, my basic set ups are okay. My starting straight right has some work to be done but I feel like I can finally step up to the next level with technique.

Please advice me on the following.
1) short 3-4 hit combos which set up a strong finishing blow in which I can remain defensively responsible. How do I get in in the proper distance, how do I trow what is the aim of the combo, and how I defend after I trow.

2) How can I circle around like Lomachenko does. I know he is an unique fighter who is extremely fast. But I believe he sets up trough a long range of feints and bullshit hits which allows him to to circle arround. My goal here is to learn how to do a combo, circle arround which is both an offensive and defensive manevuer and continue with a second combo. I want to be able to put a lot of pressure and mix up 2 combinations in a very short time period.

I really like Duke Roufus' four pillars of striking.