How to improve muscular endurance for BJJ?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by Alzi_, Mar 28, 2006.

1. Alzi_ Orange Belt

Alzi_
    My one biggest weakness when I roll is that I gas quickly. Usually after 5 minutes my energy starts draining and after that I can only last another 5 at best. At times I get so tired I don't even have the strength to push the other guy off. I used to think its was due to poor cardio but my cardio has steadily improved from doing jiu-jitsu for the past few months yet I haven't gained a whole lot of endurance. So it occured to me that maybe a lack of strength is to blame for my muscle fatigue. Would it help my muscular endurance if I started lifting weights? I hate weightlifting and avoid it like the plague thinking the BJJ will be enough to improve my strength but if it would help I would definately do it. I'm can't train right now cause of an arm injury but in the meantime I'd like to do some exercises to increase my endurance.

2. Dawgie Banned

Dawgie
    Ask krazy horse

3. teal Yellow Belt

teal
    ya sounds like if you dont reverse in a few attempts your stuck there for the rest of the match :D if you hate lifting weights why not do other strength exercises in judo you do arm circles both forwards and backwards for about 5 mins in each direction also push ups chin ups lunge walking forward and backwards wall sits, as for stamina you can do sprints uphill walk down and sprint up again do squat jumps lots of fun things to do :p

4. Heavy Hitters Orange Belt

Heavy Hitters
    sprints are a great way to improve stamina, I would also suggest plyometrics

5. Clann Guest

Clann
    Your muscles are getting tired because they aren't used to functioning in a certain way. The best way to increase your cardio is actually rolling, rolling hard, and rolling alot.

You can do other things to help aid your cardio; like running, doing burpees, isometrics, plyometrics, sprints, etc.