How to Handle the Situation

TK (Taylor Kelly)

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Sorry ahead of time for how lengthy this is but any insight will be much appreciated.

I've been training Muay Thai for 4 months now and just joined a new gym 2 weeks ago and started training BJJ and MMA. I know this sounds crazy but I am actually considering an ammy MMA debut in less than 3 weeks. I was offered an opportunity by someone I spar with at my fitness gym in my hometown so it is in no way through my gym.

My gym has many fighters that fight for the promotion involved and 4 of them just fought at there last event. The thing is the promotion has all of there shows in GR which is about 1hr from where I live and also where my new gym is. The event in a few weeks is one that only comes around every few years and takes place in my hometown on the deck of an USS LST war ship from WWII that participated in the Invasion of Normandy (the famous D-Day battle). The fact that I only get one first fight ever and the event is so unique is what appeals to me and makes it so tempting.

I dont think anyone from my gym is participating since its a mostly ammy event and not in GR where all there other events are. Plus seating is super limited, like a few hundred people tops. Therefore I wouldnt even ask my coaches to be in my corner, in fact I probably wouldnt even let them know about it. Is this terrible etiquette for someone who just joined the gym to take a fight behind there back? I just know my skills are no where near where they'd endorse me fighting and I dont want them to feel obligated to give me extra attention because of it. Most of all I dont want to disappoint them.