How many times a week you hit one muscle group of your body?

orca

P4P #1 Machida fan
@Brown
Reaction score
Is it ok to hit it once? Will it still grow and develope?
Heres my routine

1st day
Chest and shoulders
2nd day rest
3rd day
Back and legs
4th day
Biceps n triceps
5th day rest
6th day chest n shoulders
As you can see im hitting my back legs and arms once a week only. Will muscles still grow and develop even if you hit it only once a Week? What do you think? Thanx in advance

i'm far from an expert,but your working your biceps on days 3 & 4,also a whole workout {day 4} devoted to bi's & tri's seems very unnecessary for someone still at the stage where they need to ask for advice.

you'd be better off looking at stronglifts 5x5 imho.

My routine:

The-one-man-punch-workout.png

On a serious note, you can actually hit all groups every day with moderate intensity and have decent results with more energy to spare and less DOMS and injury risk.

I've been "greasing the groove" as per Tsatsouline and very satisfied.

Splits are not the best for beginners, nor are they essential for advanced lifters.

Depends on how your body responds to it, and which body part we're talking about. There is no set in stone way of doing this. Usually it takes a little more volume to get the upper body to respond though.

Some people have success with only doing certain body parts/lifts once a week, others not so much. Personally I like higher frequency for actually improving something and getting better at it. Also, much less DOMS that way as long as you have a sensible load scheme. 2-3 times a week seems to be good for most people.

I hit legs abs obliques and shoulders arms usualy on every sparing session, sometimes neck too if the guy is unlucky

I strongly suggest picking a different split. There is an entire day dedicated to arms, yet back AND legs are scrammed into a single day; that doesn't make sense.