Help me in demanding a pay raise

CodeBreaker

What belt?
@Brown
Reaction score
This is my first job, so I never had any experience or idea about it. I'm only 23 yrs of age and here is the reason why I want a raise, and is it reasonable?

I'm a developer and our dev team was composed of 5 people. We support 2 systems so we divided it. 2 developer supports the System A, and the other 2 supports the System B, while the last one partially supports both systems. So just this month, 2 dev resigned, one from each system. And just this week, the guy who supports both resigned too. Only one dev is left for each system, we are only 2 left, so how can you still call it a Support dev team? All the responsibilities of those who left were turnovered to us, and I think it is becoming too much.

How much % is the realistic demand for a pay raise? 10%? or 15%? Or is it still reasonable for 20%? Or should I just continue with my plan to resign too and look for a better job out there that pays more than what I currently have.

Depends on what your current pay is compared to others who do similar work. A large spike in workload could reasonably turn into a proportionate increase in pay, but all comes down to what value you bring. How easy would you be to replace?

Just look for a new job. The model now is take on more shit and don't get paid or promoted for it.

I think the most reliable way to get a pay raise would be to start looking for another job that pays a little bit more. Even if you don't intend on leaving, if you tell your boss that you have a higher paying job offer he may at least match it or offer even more if he needs you bad enough.

I don't think complaining or telling them it isn't "fair" that you are doing more work for the same amount of money is going to get you anywhere.

Tell your boss you're a Sherdogger. He'll accept his role as the beta can and will elevate you to company CEO overlord