Hawaiian Jujitsu?

rquinlan

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been searching in my hometown for some good juijitsu training but all I can find is hawaiin jujitsu. What is the difference between brazilian jiujitsu and hawaiian? Have any of you heard of John Pfund? He would be my trainer if I signed up. Any information you could give me would be helpful. Thanks

So, what part of the bay area do you live in?

never heard of that style before...

mmm not sure hawaiian jiu jitsu even exists. where did you see that?

I live in San Ramon near Cal High. It seems a little wierd to me also because although I am new to MMA I have never heard of Hawaiian Jiu-jitsu before. I think I will just keep looking for a different gym. Do any of you know of any good places to go in the bay area around dublin? It doesnt have to be just jiu jitsu, I am open to any other styles of fighting there may be in my area.

I think Ralph Gracie has a school near Dublin.

2om30 said:
never heard of that style before...

I saw an ad for it on craigslist, and it is a 2 minute drive from my house, so I decided to give it a try. But 65 dollars seems expensive for a private training session in something that may not even exist.

Hi

Hawaiain Jujitsu is synonymous with a style called Danzan Ryu Jujitsu, whish was developed in Hawaii and based mostly on Judo and Jujitsu from Japan.

While it does have a lot of ground work and grappling, it is definitely more stand up based than Brazilian Jujitsu.

If you are seeking Brazilian Jujitsu, there is a Gracie studio on Regional in Dublin.

Can you tell me where the John Pfund Hawaiin Jujitsu studio is located? I'd be interested in checking it out.