Having xbox one internet connection issues. Need technical help plz.

Discussion in 'Video Game Forum' started by IamStryker, Jul 9, 2018.

  1. IamStryker

    IamStryker Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    10,346
    Likes Received:
    9,260
    My xbox is hardwired into my modem. Around a month back there was a storm and after it was over for some reason I was no longer connecting to the internet on my xbox. The only way it would connect again is if I hard reset my modem. I have to hard reset EVERY TIME I want to my xbox to connect to the internet. I have tried to look for fixes to this but none have worked yet. It's an annoying problem. Feel free to list suggestions. I have tried some of the more common solutions like hard resetting my xbox. No luck yet. Thanks for the help.
     
  2. OCGSC

    OCGSC Orange Belt

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    204
    Location:
    In the fortress of conspiracies.
    Check the cord to the modem and check your internet settings also. My shit lead to me getting team killed a lot due to connection issue with my NAtype.
     
  3. Woldog

    Woldog Boxer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    North Korea
    Have you tried throwing it out and buying a new one?
     
    Madmick likes this.
  4. IamStryker

    IamStryker Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    10,346
    Likes Received:
    9,260
    Not yet.
     
  5. Woldog

    Woldog Boxer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    North Korea
    Let me know how it goes.

    The other thing you could do is a hard reset of your xbox, Hold the power button in while turned on for 15 seconds or however long it takes to turn off it should start flashing if I recall then turn it on and it'll clear the cache and all that jazz. It'll take like 2 mins to start back up
     
    StabbyMcHatchet likes this.
  6. KaNesDeath

    KaNesDeath Black Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,290
    Likes Received:
    1,377
    Connect to your modem directly to see if a firmware update is available. If not try factory resetting your modem. Now if this issue persists its most likely the modem was damaged from a surge during the storm. Which means you'll need to buy a new modem and or get a replacement from your ISP.
     
    StabbyMcHatchet and IamStryker like this.
  7. IamStryker

    IamStryker Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    10,346
    Likes Received:
    9,260
    You have been extremely helpful....
     
  8. IamStryker

    IamStryker Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    10,346
    Likes Received:
    9,260
    Requesting a new modem from my ISP is a good idea. I'll let you know if it works thanks.
     
  9. Steve-French

    Steve-French What A Rush!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13,611
    Likes Received:
    16,226
    Location:
    Marquette Michigan
    You could try resetting the mac address witch clears the systems cache.

     
    StabbyMcHatchet likes this.
  10. Woldog

    Woldog Boxer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    North Korea
    Often if an issue cannot be fixed with a hard reset on the xbox the issue is caused by your router or your internet settings, could the storm have caused the modem to reset? Hindering its ability to connect with the ISP properly?
     
  11. Gref

    Gref Scumdog Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    3,099
    Location:
    Gatorland FL
    If the storm was really bad I suppose a surge could have popped the onboard NIC. Happened to two of my computers at work last Friday.
     
  12. jefferz

    jefferz Gold Belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    19,027
    Likes Received:
    19,910
    Try another device like a laptop on the wired connection. If that device has the same issues, it's the modem.
    It never hurts to pick up a surge protector with ethernet built in.
     
  13. IamStryker

    IamStryker Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    10,346
    Likes Received:
    9,260
    I am almost positive that I tried that. Thanks though.
     
  14. HTTR21

    HTTR21 Burgundy & Gold Belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    5,755
    Likes Received:
    6,906
    Location:
    Redskins Nation
    Sounds like your modem bit the dust.
     
  15. StabbyMcHatchet

    StabbyMcHatchet Add StabbyMcHatchet on Youtube Facebook & Twitter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Stabbyborough
    I came in here expecting to see comments about how he should buy a PS4 or a PC. I have to say I am pleasantly surprised to see legitimate advice! haha.
     
    Steve-French likes this.
  16. PoundMeToo

    PoundMeToo Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    20,730
    Likes Received:
    41,524
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Probably a bad port on the router
     
  17. FinalConflict2005

    FinalConflict2005 Support RIZIN FF

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    I’m experiencing my XB1 randomly turning on. Is it self updating?
     
  18. vanzellam82

    vanzellam82 Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14,229
    Likes Received:
    2,352
    Most likely.

    Go to your power settings and see if it's set to energy-saving mode or instant-on mode. If it's instant-on it will update or download anything that it's available.
     
    FinalConflict2005 likes this.
  19. StabbyMcHatchet

    StabbyMcHatchet Add StabbyMcHatchet on Youtube Facebook & Twitter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Stabbyborough
    ...and it is ALWAYS listening....
     
    90 50 and FinalConflict2005 like this.

Share This Page