Haven't Played Monster Hunter. I See MH: World is Coming to PC. Should I Get It?

Arkridge

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score
I have no experience with the game. My friends play it, they all seem to like it. I've never played any of them but I'm bored of every game being a battle royale. This seems like a nice change of pace. I see the console version got awesome reviews.

Anyone that's played it and other monster hunter games recommend it?

What other games does it compare to?

Combat wise I would compare MH to a slower version of Dark Souls. It's all about punishing missed attacks, position, and pattern recognition. Just like with DS, if you get greedy, you get fucked up. There are no levels, just a handfull of different maps. In the central hub, the quest giver hands out your tasks that send you into the different maps to slay monsters.

The hunting portion is half the game, where the other half is the crafting and outfitting your characters with different armors and builds for each situation. There is a ridiculous amount of build customization to keep you busy for a long time. It does get a pretty grindy towards the end as you start perfecting your builds and hunting for the strongest upgrades. I spent a good 150hrs before I had to abandon ship and get on the next game. I think Deadshot said he put in something like 400hrs.

I think it's definitely worth a buy as there is tons of content to last a long time, but it's also not for everyone. If you don't care for grindy MMO type loot drops it may drive you away.

Combat wise I would compare MH to a slower version of Dark Souls. It's all about punishing missed attacks, position, and pattern recognition. Just like with DS, if you get greedy, you get fucked up. There are no levels, just a handfull of different maps. In the central hub, the quest giver hands out your tasks that send you into the different maps to slay monsters.