Has the overhand right a dubious reputation in boxing?

spacetime

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I'm relatively new in the game but still.... overhand rights are suspiciously absent in drills.

Do boxing instructors concider them unsound even though most boxers use them?

They look Incredibly effective when done right.

Last edited:
ya, good point. Its such a natural punch, maybe they drill everything else because it is harder to perfect?

Side note, I have often noticed a lack of good overhand rights from Europeans, even in boxing, but more in hockey fights, lol. Ive always wondered if i take the punch for granted having played third base from 6 yrs old. Im not sure Europe has a popular sport where everyone throws all the time -in practice, with dad or a friend in the yard, games, always.

ya, good point. Its such a natural punch, maybe they drill everything else because it is harder to perfect?

Side note, I have often noticed a lack of good overhand rights from Europeans, even in boxing, but more in hockey fights, lol. Ive always wondered if i take the punch for granted having played third base from 6 yrs old. Im not sure Europe has a popular sport where everyone throws all the time -in practice, with dad or a friend in the yard, games, always.

Cricket; but it’s a shit boring sport played mostly by melts/the middle class

Winding punch. Far more likely to see it coming at high levels. Can be countered by using a jab pawing and testing distance. Comes across the entire length of your body.

So, it's only really great if you have a reach advantage. Or if you have ridiculous power and reach as one of your only weapons.

It's a punch that can work if you can take what the opponent gives you. If your known as "that guy" the opponent will simply move to your left and pick you off whenever you try to get set to throw it. It telegraphs a lot, requires the most distance, and leaves you open for counters.