Former competetive tennis player will it carryover to boxing/mma?

Comperko

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi Im really interested in mma although Im a complete beginner (I did wrestling for one season in high school though but that barely even counts). I competed in tennis since I was 7 until I graduated high school and I was a decent player (not the best but decent). I was honestly always interested in martial arts but my parents never supported it because "its too dangerous" so they put me on tennis because my father is former tennis player too.

I always had a good swing and could hit powerful shots in tennis but the technique is probably completly different than in punching. I was also pretty fast and athletic. My question is will it have some carryover to punching power as a beginner fighter or will it be the same as for everyone learning from scratch?

Last edited:
Hi Im really interested in mma although Im a complete beginner (I did wrestling for one season in high school though but that barely even counts). I competed in tennis since I was 7 until I graduated high school and I was a decent player (not the best but decent). I was honestly always interested in martial arts but my parents never supported it because "its too dangerous" so they put me on tennis because my father is former tennis player too.

I always had a good swing and could hit powerful shots in tennis but the technique is probably completly different than in punching. I was also pretty fast and athletic. My question is will it have some carryover to punching power as a beginner fighter or will it be the same as for everyone learning from scratch?
Depends

How is the technique in tennis when you swing and hit? Are you tensed like lifting, or loose & using momentum into it? If its the latter, that will come better as alot of striking, punching specifically is more of that motion.

How did you feel when you wrestled? Did it feel intuitive and similar to tennis?

Depends