First competition experience.

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by BelugaPower06, May 15, 2017.

1. BelugaPower06 White Belt

BelugaPower06
    I've been training jiu-jitsu twice a week for about 6 months or so now. I really enjoy it (most days). I didn't start training with the idea of competing but after a while I thought it'd be nice to kind of "test" myself through competition. This past Saturday I competed in the NAGA Dallas event.

Leading up to the event I was going back and forth trying to figure out which weight class I would be competing in. I weighed in at 176 lbs two days before the event and decided I would try to "cut" the weight and compete at welterweight. Bad idea. I didn't eat and just sipped water all day Friday. Couldn't sleep the night before due to nerves I think. Got up at 5 a.m. on Saturday, drove two hours to the venue, weighed in, and began to finally eat and drink some shit. Made weight by the way. Afterwards I sat around and watched my 10 year old son compete. Throughout the day I never felt "right", I think it was a combination of things.

Finally around 5 p.m. my division was called to compete. First match was no-gi. My opponent and myself were both very tense, spent the first half of the match pushing and pulling on each other. He eventually shot for the take down, I grabbed a guillotine and pulled guard. He was able to pop his head out but I quickly lock up an arm lock but wasn't able to finish it for some reason. I decided to create space and try to stand but he grabbed me leg and fell back into a straight ankle lock. I defended it, sat up and was able to establish top control and then mount, from mount I locked up an arm triangle and got the finish. After the match I was EXHAUSTED, even had a tough time standing on the podium, lol. I think some of this was due to adrenaline or something.