Explosive power for Muay Thai

Darth Diaz

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hey fellow Sherdogs,
I have been doing bodybuilding for 2 years and a half and i have some respectable numbers. 150 kg dead-lift, 110 kg bench as well as a 75 kg seated shoulder press. i have been training muay thai for a month now and I was wondering if I should do vertical jumps for explosive power. and if i should do explosive training which exercises should i do and why.
Thanks in advance

I say do kettlebell swing even though it's not an explosive movement.

Sweet, I just got my yellow belt. :)

Training Muay Thai will improve your Muay Thai.

Learning how to punch will improve your punching power.

If you want to get better at a sport, your training focus should be on the sport.

Last edited:
Training Muay Thai will improve your Muay Thai.

Learning how to punch will improve your punching power.

If you want to get better at a sport, your training focus should be on the sport.
so are you saying that explosive training is not beneficial and if so then why

so are you saying that explosive training is not beneficial and if so then why

I'm not an excercise scientist so take what I say for what it is.

The point is that if you want to get better at Muay Thai, you are better off using that extra gym time to train Muay Thai.

Punching power is mostly technique, there are things you can do that will help a bit but most of it comes from training the movement.

I think explosive training is good, but theres evidence that suggests it dosent really carry over to sports nearly as much as people like to think.

You can look how most pro kick boxers train and I don't think you are going to see them doing much explosive work outside of actual kickboxing work. Basically they aren't doing all sorts of snatches and stuff like that.