Championships exist within a strange grey area between promotions and athletic commissions. On the one hand the UFC can seemingly strip or appoint champions as they see fit. While on the other hand the commissions seem to have oversight when it comes to what constitutes a championship fight, specifically surrounding the weight allowance. This was most evident when Iaquinta didn’t make championship weight for UFC 223, but Dana still insisted that he would be the LW champion if he were to win. It seems he wouldn’t technically have been able to win the title in the fight, but outside of that event the UFC would have the discretion to simply appoint him the champion. Obviously there is a need for some clarification here. Sometimes it feels like the rules are made up as we go, for instance we have seen half-title fights like Romero vs Rockhold. So could the UFC make double-title fights as well? Specifically Dillashaw vs Cejudo, where the fight will apparently take place at Flyweight despite the division reportedly being scrapped. We both know Cejudo and TJ can make 135, but there is a question about Dillashaw getting down to 125. If they were to weigh in at 125 lbs, what is stopping the UFC from also putting the Bantamweight belt on the line? It might technically have to be a promotional decision outside of the fight (like Iaquinta would have been) to strip TJ and appoint Cejudo (if he were to win). It could also apply to fights like Whittaker vs Woodley, or Cormier vs Jones III—where both heavier champions have fought at the lower weight class in the past. It just seems like the only reasonable explanation for Dillashaw vs Cejudo to happen at 125 lbs at this point. Thoughts?