Doing BJJ after muay thai

TroldeAnsigt

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
Hello, I am relatively new to the world of grappling, but I have trained stand up for a little while, and am doing muay Thai now.

In ny gym, right after muay thai there is bjj training. And I was wondering if it would be smart to do grappling right after striking?
Would it be smarter to just learn one art at a time?
Also, is it okay that I go to grappling all sweaty and maybe skip their warm up, or at least take it easy?

Just go and try it and see how it works out and speak to the instructor about warmups. Personally I'd do some of the warm-up as usually it contains grappling movements you need to know. But maybe skip the running around bit whilst you get your Gi on.

Just go and try it and see how it works out and speak to the instructor about warmups. Personally I'd do some of the warm-up as usually it contains grappling movements you need to know. But maybe skip the running around bit whilst you get your Gi on.

I don't have a gi, but fair enough haha.

I really didn't get much answer though. Is it bad to train two things after another? Getting better at stand up is a priority, but I think it would be fun to do some grappling as well. I don't want it to interfere with the stand up though.

It's not bad to do both, lots of people do. Change your shirt between classes

Nothing wrong with learning both. Grappling will toughen you up for stand-up and help your cardio

It's not a bad idea at all. Just take a small snack with you to quickly eat in between classes, you will probably have little energy to train if you don't.

trust me, once you start grappling, it will become your priority

I don't know if this will happen. I have been watching some bjj videos recently though, on youtube. So my interest has shifted a little haha.
What I have against bjj as a sport though, is the butt scooting, and the other silly things. Like wanting to be in guard and just stalling etc.