Does calories matter when building muscle? I've only been lifting for 2 years

tonystpierre

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
Sorry if this question sounds dumb but i've been lifting for only two years. I'm asking if calories matter. For example if My calorie intake is 1500 and I only eat 800 calories a day but it's all protein and I get my protein intake per day which is 150 grams in the 800 calories. Would I still build muscle. I'm not going to do this but i'm curious.

If you burn more calories than you eat, you will lose weight. Either muscle or fat (or both) depending on how you do it.

If you eat more calories than you burn, you will gain weight. Either muscle or fat (or both) depending on how you do it.

My young sherbro, you really need to ask less questions and just read more information. Just focus on reading and getting informed. To be honest, some of your questions don’t really make sense.

You wouldn’t build muscle on 800kcal a day because you’d be on the verge of starvation. That’s barely enough energy to run basic metabolic processes that keep you alive, let alone any metabolically “expensive” processes like building muscle. Unless you’re Joe Rogan and you’re actually 1 foot tall.

Some good sources to gather basic info:

- Barbell Medicine
- Stronger by Science/Greg Nuckols
- Renaissance Periodization/Mike Israetel

Check their websites/blogs/podcasts/YouTube pages.

if My calorie intake is 1500 and I only eat 800 calories a day

This is the same thing as asking “ok so imagine I’m a father but I don’t have any kids”. Kinda incoherent.

Last edited:
My young sherbro, you really need to ask less questions and just read more information. Just focus on reading and getting informed. To be honest, some of your questions don’t really make sense.