Culture shock going from BJJ to Judo

SAMURAI SPIRIT

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
So I have been doing Judo at a local club for about 3 months now. It is a casually run place with one class a week for the time being until you become "advanced" (more than 3 months of training.) I must say that coming from a BJJ background it is a bit of a culture shock.

Firstly, three months into it and I have not sparred ONCE! No all out rolling from day one which I expected. Instead we are constantly doing break falls. The proficiency in breakfalls that would satisfy my BJJ school is much lower than what is expected here. While I understand that need to master breakfalls before doing all out sparring, the lack of sparring has left me feeling a bit "under utilized." The pleasure / mental satisfaction factor that you get from BJJ rolling is not here anymore.

So now I am wondering whether to only work Judo to the level where it will give me some stand up confidence to engage BJJ fighters or whether to continue it all the way as my second discipline. Question is:

Is Judo as laid back all the way to black belt level? Or when exactly does it start getting competitive? Thanks.