Cross training, balance and periodisation

Atrfin

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm quite new to the forum. Wanted to get some advice on training balance and periodisation.

Quick background - I've been doing kickboxing for about 18 months (1-2 times a week) and strength training twice a week (first SS then 531). Recently I changed gyms and added BJJ. All of this proved to be too much for my body to handle and not sustainable (I also travel a lot for work). I ended up dropping kickboxing to focus on BJJ as there is a LOT to learn as a noob. I train for fun and fitness and don't intend to compete.

My problem is, I don't want to neglect my standup for long and ultimately want to be able to cross train BJJ/MT regularly. However if I do BJJ 3x a week and MT 2x a week I'm not sure if I can show up at the gym to do the heavy compounds twice a week every week.

The question is, if I drop lifting from my training and focus on BJJ/Muay Thai can I still maintain size and strength? What are some alternatives to juggle all 3 without spinning my wheels?

What exercises were you doing during your 531 two day? Were you doing a lot of accessory shit? Drop all the accessory work and stick to 3-4 compounds only.

You can also do a block of off-season work once or twice a year. Take 2 months off MMA and work on aerobic base building/strength/general conditioning.

When I tried to fit all 3 in a week (lift/BJJ/MT) my assistance was very basic - only pull ups/chin ups/dips. Maybe the % of weights on the compounds were too much for me to recover from quickly. But it was mainly the difficulty of fitting enough training sessions into my schedule for all 3 regardless of the intensity.

Edit: With off-season/on-season type of split, would you cut strength&conditioning to focus on skills training when you are doing the "on-season" part?