Cross legs (armbar)

tdk_tdk

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
This seems like a common question but the search engine was broke.

When going for a straight armbar do you cross your legs or leave them uncrossed???

Either way is valid, but if you cross your legs (ankles) make sure you squeeze your knees together. The pro to crossing is that you have a more secure lock but by crossing ankles you tend to release pressure between the knees making the armbar looser.

lonewolf_454 said:
Either way is valid, but if you cross your legs (ankles) make sure you squeeze your knees together. The pro to crossing is that you have a more secure lock but by crossing ankles you tend to release pressure between the knees making the armbar looser.

they can get in your guard easier if u dnt cross your legs aswell

I'm no expert, but I thought you crossed your legs when you have the persons neck (as in you were going for the triangle, but there posture was too much).

When you only have their armpit (typical armbar) I thought that the other leg was meant to secure the head and keep them from coming into guard...

I perfer to dig the foot of the leg that is covering their face under their armpit. This keeps them from using the spin-out escape that has become so common.

Its good technique and habit to leave them uncrossed. You are supposed to squeeze your knees together and push your hip up and its makes it alot harder to do it with your legs crossed.

My experience leads me to believe that it is a slight technical flaw to cross your legs in an armbar. The armbar is generally tighter and more effective when the legs are uncrossed.

However, I find myself crossing my legs accidentally sometimes. Most of the time I am able to finish the armbar anyway. Crossing the legs does not seem to be a critical flaw.

I would probably concentrate more on getting your body perpendicular to your opponent and controlling him appropriately. Those things are more important than crossing the legs.