coming back from a long break

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by jcandoitbig, Sep 12, 2017.

1. jcandoitbig Green Belt

jcandoitbig
    any advice from folks here that have come back to training after taking a significant break (8 months or longer)? I just started training again and I'm curious to hear thoughts on what you did to get back to where you were skill wise and timing wise as quickly as possible.

2. vodkaBearSnow White Belt

vodkaBearSnow
    My break was about 8 months. I never got back to where I was after injury and probably never will- some stuff I've used to do is now off-limits due to permanent damage.

But the thing is, purely from competitive standpoint I'm now better grappler than before. I've revised my A-game (since several things I couldn't do anymore) and added a couple of new techniques to compensate, I've been lifting for most of the time I've been in a break (although only upper body), and even though I wasn't a weakling I'm now noticeably stronger. I'm much more focused on the things that work for me (because I simply cannot do what doesn't work as it leads to danger zone for my injury), and MUCH more aggressive at all entries and getting the game to where I want it to be (again, because I simply cannot allow it get to dangerous positions).
    My game now looks very different- I've reinvented (or at least tweaked) most of it.

So yeah, technically I'm much more limited now, but more focused, aggressive and strong, and overall it kinda works.

Technique-wise I was fine from the get-go, but my cardio kinda sucked for about a month, my timing was shit for 3 months, and only after about half a year I could definitely say that I've started improving from where I left off.