Can I compete In Muay Thai/K1 If I had mild absence seizures as a teenager?

Someguy1234

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I have been training Muay Thai for the last 10 months and have absolutely fallen in love with the sport, I have been training hard since the start and have in the last month or so begun full contact sparring (having been invited by my couch). At sparring so far I have held my own mostly but taken some heavy shots (one shot in particular I would say 'wobbled' me, but i felt fine again later that night). I have no ego and am aware I have tons to learn still.

I have no desire to pursue fighting professionally or even semi-professionally, however I would love to compete in an amateur competition at least once in my life. I am in great shape as I began running and weightlifting in my late teens religiously and also eat a very clean and calculated diet. (I am now 21).

Here Is the catch..

As a teenager (between 14 and 17 years old roughly) I was a heavy-ish drug and alcohol user, I ate like absolute shit and generally lived a very unhealthy lifestyle, drinking/getting high most days and generally being a little twat.

At the age of 16 (the height of my unhealthy lifestyle) I started experiencing absence seizures, which are essentially the most mild possible form of epilepsy. Unlike many types of severe epilepsy, my seizures simply consisted of me blanking out for anywhere between 5 and 20 seconds, I would stay conscious, stay standing, and would carry on with a task I was doing, but would be 'absent' and unsure what I was doing. Once the seizure had ended I would be more or less fine, maybe slightly tired. My seizures are not triggered by flashing lights, or any known stimulus.