Bulding an old school arcade machine

Steve-French

What A Rush!!!
@Gold
Reaction score
I was born in 1980, so I got to experience the arcades growing up and spent my fair share of time in them as a kid. A friend of mine has been building these kind of as a hobby and selling them for around $500 bucks.

They run off a $35 raspberry pie computer and run emulates. I have an arcade stick that I play emulators with on my computer, but one of these would go good in my man cave. He said they cost him around $250 to build.

I'm a carpenter by trade and am pretty nerdy so I could build and program one of these by myself, but he would sell me one for $450 and I think it would be worth spending the $200 extra dollars to just have him do it.

612473f0-4e03-4d55-a726-b514d828439f

66e06b04-6f88-4478-babd-9c6be4575441.png

78079fca-33fb-42e3-baf5-29a772d372f3

Really cool hobby.

On a similar note, here's the GOAT arcade machine:

0000541_xmen-6-player-x-men-x-men.jpg

If you had five partners playing this monster, you guys were an untouchable gang of toughs.

Really cool hobby.

x-men%20arcade.jpg

If you had five partners playing this monster, you guys were an untouchable gang of toughs.

I remember I took back like $20 worth of returnables and sponsored myself and 3 other friends to play and beat Ninja turtles.

71%2Bvq7Ig3gL._SY679_.jpg

Some of these DYI arcade machines can get pretty nuts though. Something like this would be sweet if you had the room for it.

4_Player_Arcade_Machine_Mame_Ready_to_play_With_computer_and_all_electronics_01_in.jpg

I remember I took back like $20 worth of returnables and sponsored myself and 3 other friends to play and beat Ninja turtles.

71%2Bvq7Ig3gL._SY679_.jpg

Some of these DYI arcade machines can get pretty nuts though. Something like this would be sweet if you had the room for it.

4_Player_Arcade_Machine_Mame_Ready_to_play_With_computer_and_all_electronics_01_in.jpg
A lot of ingenuity with these machine designs.