BJJ Chicago: Valko vs Team Redzovic

SakurabaFan

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hey All,

I will be moving to Chicago for graduate school in September and based on some research, I have narrowed it down to two schools: Valko BJJ and Team Redzovic (I will be living in the Loop Area and these two schools were the most accessible).

Anyone here know anything about these two schools and would recommend them? I have been doing BJJ for about 8 months (intermediate white belt) and have been hooked ever since. I am mainly looking for a school with a good and chill atmosphere.

Thanks in advance!

P.S. Team Redzovic seems to be affiliated with Gracie Barra. Does anyone know if they require you to wear their gis?

Jay is a really nice guy, and I would recommend him to anyone. Instruction is solid, and he has some good dudes to roll with.

I've heard good things about both of those places. However, Istrongly suggest checking out Comprido's place. I may be somewhat biased though

I've heard good things about both of those places. However, Istrongly suggest checking out Comprido's place. I may be somewhat biased though

Comprido is in the burbs, man. Dude lives in the loop. That is a ridiculous amount of travel. And this is coming from a Brasa guy.

Redzo are not affiliated with GB anymore. They are a stand Alone club.

Looked up Comprido's place and it seems a bit too far for me :icon_sad:. Thanks for the suggestion though!

Jay is a really nice guy, and I would recommend him to anyone. Instruction is solid, and he has some good dudes to roll with.

Awesome, thanks for the info man. Are you familiar with Redzovic and the school's atmosphere? Are they chill, competition heavy, and etc.?