Best BJJ instructional DVDs?

Tylerlikesmma

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
Absolute beginner here.. I like to roll with my friends & I know very basic aspects but I'm intrested in buying a video that will help me learn a bit more. my work hours prevent me from being able to attend a real BJJ class :mad:

any help? thanks in advance

Absolute beginner here.. I like to roll with my friends & I know very basic aspects but I'm intrested in buying a video that will help me learn a bit more. my work hours prevent me from being able to attend a real BJJ class :mad:

Saulo Ribeiro and Demian Maia. Cobrinha is sick as well.

I have the Saulo Ribeiro JJ Revolution. It's super good but for the absolute beginner... I don't think it even covers things like shrimping and arm bar from guard, etc. I'd recommend it to anyone with even a few months of training though.

With that said, it's hard to recommend an instructional for a COMPLETE beginner. You're better off spending time in a gym.

A good gym will have morning, noon and evening and several weekend classes.

While there are lots of great videos out there, none of them will even come close to replacing even one class a week.

If you still can not find a class, and insist on a video, Roy Dean's Blue Belt Requirements is one of the better Beginner ones. Add Saulo's JJ Revolution and Maia's Science of BJJ to that list as well.

IMHO, Cobrinha's is not for a beginner, but maybe thats just me.

I personally, would never pay money for a Simco DVD. I have seen a few, and did not like the instruction, but that could be just my opinion.

roy dean blue belt requirements

end thread for sure

A good gym will have morning, noon and evening and several weekend classes.

While there are lots of great videos out there, none of them will even come close to replacing even one class a week.