Belt level relevance

Robocok

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
This is a long, rambling post with no point.

I've really been humbled the last couple nights. I took a month or 2 off and finally returned to class last night. I had some good moments but I was subbed or almost subbed a few times by different guys that weren't able to do that before I took a break.

I'm embarrassed but determined to really start training and quit being a bum. Everyone at class is either a white or blue belt. I've been training in this lazy on/off style for a few years now, but I used to have more success against lower belts.

For a time, I visited a few different gyms and at some of them I felt like I was holding my own at least for awhile against some purples and browns. Now all these white belt guys that I used to sub or control are whooping my ass. I feel pathetic, but I also question if these guys are really a white belt level compared to other gyms.

Are some gyms too quick to promote belts? I don't know how much of it is me being rusty and weak. I feel like such a bum. There are no belts higher than blue at the gym except for the bb instructor. Maybe he's just training these white belts so that they would sub higher level guys at other gyms or maybe I just lost my skills. I kind of like that. I'd rather be a fierce white belt than something higher and they say "he sucks for the belt level he has".

I don't even know what I'm talking about. I should just shut up and start going to class a lot.

Tldr: I got my ass whooped and need to cry on the web.

Belt levels in BJJ are like belt levels in basket ball at the YMCA open gym.

Turns out most people can kind of play.

61523957.jpg

Belts are more about knowledge and peak ability than current skill level. If you're a purple belt who takes a few years off you still know a lot about BJJ, you were probably pretty good when you got your belt, but it's not magic. You're going to have trouble with blue belts when you come back. Is normal.